Torri in Sabina (RI) is a town of about 1,300 inhabitants, 75 km from Rome.
The first mentions of Torri, in the Regesto di Farfa (an ancient work detailing the abbey of Farfa’s history and holdings), date to 747 during the Middle Ages, when the donation of Casalis Turris to the Abbey was confirmed in the following centuries until 1084.
Instead, the confirmation of the existence of a castle, a property of the Holy See in 1364, dates back to 1298.
From 1368, Torri was among the possessions of the Orsini, the ancient aristocratic Roman family which possessed the property until the death of the wife of Flavio Orsini, Anna de la Tremouille (1728). From then, Torri’s ownership returned to the Holy See.
In 1817, the town, as an independent Commune, became part of the Governorate of Calvi. After the Unification of Italy, the town was assigned first to the Province of Perugia, then to the Province of Rome (1923) and finally to the new Province of Rieti (since 1927).
Of notable historical and architectural interest are the church of Santa Maria della Lode in Vescovio, (9th century) and the cathedral of the Sabina Diocese until 1733. Inside, visitors can admire important 12th-century frescoes depicting stories of the ancient and new testament and a Last Judgment.
For more information: Comune di Torri in Sabina